05.12.16: The winners of the 2016 AIANY New Practices New York competition discussed their work at the opening of the New Practices New York 2016 exhibition. (l-r) Phu Hoang, AIA, and Rachely Rotem, MODU; Troy Schaum and Rosalyne Shieh, AIA, SCHAUM/SHIEH; Bryan Young, AIA, Young Projects; Benjamin Cadena, AIA, Studio Cadena; Seung Teak Lee, stpmj; Ines Guzman and Gregory Melitonov, Assoc. AIA, Taller KEN; and James Slade, FAIA, IIDA, LEED AP, Slade Architecture.

05.11.16: Deborah Berke, FAIA, LEED AP, Partner at Deborah Berke Partners, discussed her firm’s recent projects with a focus on historic buildings that have been reinvented for new purposes, at the 2016 Oberfield Lecture.

05.16.16: Speakers and organizers of the AIANY Science and Research Facilities Committee’s event on Weill Cornell Medicine’s Belfer Building discussed new construction in the context of other institutions in the immediate area. (l-r) Hank Abernathy, AIA, Co-chair, AIANY Science and Research Facilities Committee; William Cunningham, Campus Architect, Weill Cornell Medicine; Lois Mate, Associate Partner, Ennead Architects; and Carol Loewenson, FAIA, 2016 President, AIANY.

05.17.16: The AIANY Design for Risk and Reconstruction collaborate with ASLA-NY to organize “Sustainable vs. Resilient: Conflict, Coexistence, and Collaboration.” (l-r) Walter Meyer, ASLA, LEED AP, Principal, Local Office Landscape Architecture; Donna WAlcavage, FASLA, ENV SP, Principal, Landscape Architect, Stantec; Claire Weisz, FAIA, Founding Principal, WXY architecture + urban design; and Illya Azaroff, AIA, Director of Design, +LAB.

AIA Convention: AIANY/AIA New York State 2016 Honorees & New Fellows Party, sponsored by Bespoke. (l-r): Tom Krizmanic, AIA, STUDIOS Architecture; AIANY Development Director Jesse Lazar; AIANY Executive Director Ben Prosky; Joan Blumenfeld, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP ID+C, Principal, Perkins+Will and 2007 AIANY President; and Cynthia Kracauer, AIA, LEED AP, Managing Director, Center for Architecture.

AIA Convention: Jessica Sheridan, AIA, LEED AP, of Gensler and the Emerging New York Architects Committee (ENYA), at her second presentation of the City of Dreams Pavilion, sponsored by FIGMENT, ENYA, and SEoNY, at the “Community Invigoration: Pop-up Impact on Communities” program.

AIA Convention: AIANY/AIA New York State 2016 Honorees & New Fellows Party (l-r): former New Yorker Pamela J. Loeffelman, FAIA, LEED AP, DLR Group, and Jane Smith, AIA, IIDA, Spacesmith and AIANY VP for Professional Development.

AIA Convention: Jeffrey Murphy, FAIA, and Mary Burnham, AIA, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects, are all smiles after receiving a 2016 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture for their St. Patrick’s Cathedral Conservation Renovation (also an AIANY Design Award winner). Other AIANY members who received national honors: BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group (Smithsonian Institution South Campus Master Plan); Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners (Asia Society Hong Kong Center); Rogers Partners (Henderson-Hopkins School); Architecture Workshop (Pivot Apartment – also an AIANY Design Award winner).

The ARCHITECT Live panel “Recognizing Women as Architects, Not Female Architects” featured (l-r) Jill Lerner, FAIA, Principal, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates and 2013 AIANY President; Joan Blumenfeld, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP ID+C, Principal, Perkins+Will, 2007 AIANY President, representing the Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation; Rosa T. Sheng, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Senior Associate, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson and Founder, AIASF Equity by Design; and Moderator: Wanda Lau, LEED AP, Senior Editor, Technology, Practice, and Products, ARCHITECT and Architectural Lighting.

05.24.16: Organizers and speakers of the AIANY Cultural Facilities Committee’s event, “Creative Collaboration | Big Art,” explored the creative and collaborative process of incorporating large-scale art in design projects. (l-r) Scott Brigs, AIA, Co-chair, AIANY Cultural Facilities Committee; Joseph Welker, STUDIO Director, James Carpenter Design Associates, New York; Alexandra Darraby, Esq., Founder, The Art Law Firm; Mary Miss, Sculptor and installation artist; Johannes Girardoni, Sculptor and installation artist; and LeaAnn Shelton, AIA, Esq., General Counsel and Director of Business Affairs, Rockwell Group.