Names in the News

The 2017 AIA Institute Honor Awards recognize nARCHITECTS for Carmel Place; Iu + Bibliowicz Architects for Carnegia Hall Studio Towers Renovation Project; SANAA and Handel Architects for Grace Farms; Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners and Holabird & Root for Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts; Marvel Architects for St. Ann’s Warehouse; ZGF Architects for Stanford University Central Energy Facility; Toshiko Mori Architect for THREAD: Artists’ Residency and Cultural Center; Gabellini Sheppard Associates and Montroy Andersen DeMarco for 30 Rockefeller Plaza’s 65th Floor, Rainbow Room, and SixtyFive; Studio Gang for Writers Theatre; and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill for the Philadelphia 30th Street Station District Plan.

Chris Leong, Assoc. AIA, and Dominic Leong, Founding Partners at Leong Leong, were the only NYC-based firm honored in the Architectural League’s 2017 Emerging Voices program…The Institute of Classical Architecture and Art’s New England Chapter’s 2017 Bulfinch Awards honored Peter Pennoyer Architect for Federal House in Cambridge and Robert A.M. Stern Architects for Flinn Hall, Edelamn Hall, and Redlich Hall at the Hotschkiss School.

Thomas J. Foley, PE, has been named Deputy Commissioner for Public Buildings at the NYC Department of Design and Construction…Vicki Been will step down as Commissioner of the NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development, to be succeeded by CEO of the NYC Economic Development Corporation Maria Torres-Springer.

Georgia Tech’s School of Architecture has named Claire Weisz, FAIA, founder of WXY architecture + urban design, for the post of 2017 Portman Critic…The American Academy in Rome has appointed John Ochsendorf as its new Director…

Buzz Riley, LEED AP, and Julio Braga, FIIDA, LEED AP, will become Co-managing Directors of IA Interior Architects’ New York office. The firm also promoted Erik Hodgetts, AIA, LEED AP, and John Capobianco, AIA, to Principal; and Anthony J. Simon and Kelly Funk, LEED AP BD+C, to Senior Associate…Rossana Gutiérrez de Lubetsky, AIA, and Cheng-Hsun Wu, AIA, have been promoted to Principal at Pei Partnership ArchitectsEric Epstein, AIA, LEED AP; Gia Mainiero, AIA, LEED AP BD+C; and Ruth Ro, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, have been elevated to Associate Principal at Dattner Architects. Kirsten Sibilia, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP, has been named the firm’s Managing Principal…Magnusson Architecture and Planning (MAP) has promoted Sara Bayer, AIA, CPHC, NCARB, LEED AP, and Joseph J. Moyer, Jr, AIA, to Associate.