Names in the News

The Architectural League of New York announced the recipients of the 2016 Deborah J. Norden Fund travel grants: Bryan Maddock, Project Designer at BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group, for “A Serpentine Science: Affonso Eduardo Reidy’s Housing Pair”; and Caitlin Blanchfield, Managing Editor at The Avery Review, and Nina Kolowratnik, Adjunct Assistant Professor at Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Practice, for “Deserted Border Lands: Mapping Surveillance along the Tohono O’odham Nation.”

The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) 2016 Tall Building Awards winners include VIA 57 West by BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group (Best Tall Building Americas), and Shanghai Tower by Gensler (Best Tall Building Asia and Australasia).

The International Interior Design Association’s New York Chapter (IIDA NY) has named Ginger Gilden, Senior Designer and Associate at IA Interior Architects, the organization’s new Chapter President.