Names in the News

The NYCxDESIGN Awards were conferred to Rottet Studio for Target Corporation Studio; LTL Architects for NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development; Rockwell Group for She Loves Me; AvroKO for 1 Hotel Central Park; Stephen Yablon Architecture for the Diane L. Max Health Center for Planned Parenthood of New York City; Yabu Pushelberg for Park Hyatt New York; Raad Studio for Lowline Lab; Desai/Chia Architecture for Photographer’s Loft; Workstead for Boerum Hill House and Arcade Bakery; Gensler for Capital One Pavilion, Conde Nast Headquarters, and Samsung New York Marketing Center of Excellence; Environetics for Year Up; S9 Architecture and Engineering for Dock 72; Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates for Brooklyn Bridge Park; WXY architecture + urban design for Rockaway Boardwalks Reconstruction; Clodagh for Abington House; Adjaye Associates for Sugar Hill Housing; Steven Harris Architects for 7 Harrison Penthouse; Messana O’Rorke for Majestic Apartment; Meyer Davis Studio for Vaucluse; Gabellini Sheppard Associates for Rainbow Room and the Surrounding 65th Floor; Clive Wilkinson Architects for Barbarian Group; Shelton, Mindel & Associates for New York Family Office; and Perkins+Will for the New York City Police Academy.

The shortlist for the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture includes Superkilen by BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group, and the Artist Residency and Cultural Centre by Toshiko Mori Architects.

The Waterfront Alliance will honor +Pool, designed by Family New York and PlayLab, as a Hero of the Harbor on 10.05.16…The Historic Districts Council presented its annual Grassroots Preservation Awards to the Art Deco Society of New York, the Committee to Save the New York Public Library, Citizens Defending Libraries, the Library Lovers League, New Yorkers for a Human-Scale City, New York City Councilmember Ben Kallos, Jeremiah’s Vanishing New York, and Beverly Moss, Spatt, AICP, Ph.D., Former Chair of the Landmarks Preservation Commission (1974-1978).

Thomas F. Schutte, Ph.D., has stepped down from his post as President of Pratt Institute’s Board of Trustees.