Names in the News

AIANY Design Awards winner Ryerson University Student Learning Centre by Snøhetta with Zeidler Partnership Architects received a 2016 AIA/ALA Library Buildings Award…The Architizer A+Awards honor the work of New York-based architects, including Architecture Workshop’s Pivot (2016 AIANY Design Award winner); o’neill rose architects’ Choy House (2016 AIANY Design Award winner); Handel Architects’ 170 Amsterdam; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill’s JTI Headquarters and P.S. 62 The Kathleen Grimm School for Leadership and Sustainability; SOMA’s Unilux; Boylin Cywinski Jackson’s Apple Store in Stanford; Gensler’s COEX; Rafael de Cardenas / Architecture at Large’s Black Ocean Firehouse; SHoP Architects’ Uber Headquarters and LaGuardia Airport Master Plan; CannonDesign and NEUF Architect(e)s’ Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montreal; Sage and Coombe Architects’ Ocean Breeze Track and Field House; Cetra Ruddy’s The Choice School; James Corner Field Operations’ Philadelphia Navy Yards Green Central; Ennead Architects’ Rethinking Refugee Communities; HOK’s Hamad International Airport; and FIRM a.d.’s SFC Bridge…Richard Meier, FAIA, is the winner of Architect Magazine’s Arch Madness…

The Preservation League of New York State has selected eight projects to receive its Excellence in Historic Preservation Award, including two located in New York City: Bohlin Cywinski Jackson’s Apple Store on the Upper East Side and United Nations Campus Headquarters Glazed Façades Replacement by Heintges & Associates.

The American Academy of Arts and Letters recognized Eric Bunge, AIA, and Mimi Hoang, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, co-founders of nARCHITECTS; Andrew Berman, FAIA, of Andrew Berman Architect; and Theodore Prudon, FAIA, Professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, with Arts and Letters Awards in Architecture… FIT honored SHoP Architects with the 2016 Lawrence Israel Prize…DDC Commisisoner Feniosky Peña-Mora accepted the Building Innovation Award at the 2016 Women Build America Conference…The Illuminating Engineering Society of New York City section has awarded its first annual merit-based IESNYC Scholarship to Parsons MFA Lighting Design Candidate Sarah Dlinn.

Alejandra Munizaga has launched the Brooklyn-based firm Alejandra Munizaga Interiors.

James Vincent Czajka, AIA, passed away on 03.26.16.