Names in the News

The Center for Architecture is one of 46 NYC arts organizations awarded grants under the Shelley & Donald Rubin Foundation’s new Art and Social Justice initiative.

The Architect’s Newspaper’s Best of 2015 Awards winners include the Whitney Museum of American Art by Renzo Piano Building Workshop in collaboration with Cooper, Robertson & Partners (Building of the Year: East); St. Ann’s Warehouse by Marvel Architects (Adaptive Reuse); the Gerken Residence by Young Architects (Interior Residential); Dumbo Townhouses by Alloy Design (Residential Multi-family); the Schumacher by Morris Adjmi Architects (Residential Multi-family Honorable Mention); Manhattan Districts 1/2/5 Garage by Dattner Architects and WXY Architecture + Urban Design (Facades Honorable Mention); Studio KCA (Young Architects Honorable Mention); The Growey by Kristen Garibaldi and Alex Stewart of Parsons School of Design (Student); Bjork, Museum of Modern Art by The Living (Model Honorable Mention); the Islamic Cultural Center by Buro Koray Duman (Unbuilt); 1717 Broadway by Nobutaka Ashihara with Focus Lighting (Lighting); and Herald Square by MdeAS Architects with Design One Lighting Design (Lighting Honorable Mention).

The 14th Annual Top Women to Watch in Real Estate Awards Gala will honor US Green Building Council Chair-Elect and Arup Principal Fiona Cousins, PE, LEED AP BD+C; Jacqueline Barr, IIDA, LEED AP, Design Principal, Ted Moudis Associates; Gera Feigon, Environmental Specialist, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates; and Esther Sperber, President, Studio ST Architects.

Alicia Glen, Deputy Mayor for Housing and Economic Development, is taking the helm of two more city agencies: the NYC Department of Parks and Recreation and the NYC Housing Recovery Office…Following the resignation of Director Toni Griffin and Associate Director Esther Yang, Lance Jay Brown, FAIA, Elisabetta Terragni, and Alan Feigenberg have assumed Interim Joint Leadership of the Spitzer School of Architecture’s J. Max Bond Center on Design for the Just City.

Eric Rothman will succeed Founder and President of the Design Trust for Public Space Andrea Woodner as Chair of the organization’s Board of Directors.

Evan Yassky, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, has joined Rosen Johnson Architects as Principal…Christian Glauser Benz has been appointed Vice President for Global Strategy at OPPENHEIM ArchitectureArup has named Andy Howard Chairman and Leo Argiris Chief Operating Officer of the Americas Region…Catherine Selby, AIA, LEED AP, has been promoted to Associate Principal, Rachel Ehrlich, AIA, LEED AP; and Gia Mainiero, AIA, LEED AP, have been elevated to Senior Associates; and Venesa Alicea, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP; Robert Drake, AIA; Keith Engel, AIA, LEED AP; Daniella LaRocca, AIA; and Mia Lee, AIA, have become Associates at Dattner Architects.