Names in the News

A whopping 63 of Architectural Digest’s 2016 AD100 are New York-based firms: Aero Studios, Alan Wanzenberg Architect/Design, Alexander Gorlin Architects, Alex Papachristidis Interiors, Allan Greenberg Architect, Bilhuber and Associates, Brian J. McCarth, Bunny Williams, Carrier and Company Interiors, Cullman & Kravis, Daniel Romualdez Architects, David Kleinberg Design Associates, Deborah Berke Partners, Drake Design Associates, Emily Summers Design Associates, Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, Fox-Nahem Associates, G.P. Schafer Architect, Gomez Associates, Ike Kligerman Barkley, Ingrao, Jayne Design Studio, Juan Montoya Design, Leroy Street Studio, MAC II, Mario Buatta, Mark Cunningham, Mark Hampton, Markham Roberts, McAlpine, Miles Redd, Muriel Brandolini, Peter Marino Architect, Peter Pennoyer Architects, Rafael de Cárdenas Architecture at Large, Richard Keith Langham, Richard Meier & Partners Architects, Richard Mishaan Design, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, Robert Couturier, Robert Stilin, Rockwell Group, Roman and Williams Buildings and Interiors, S.R. Gambrel, S. Russell Groves, Sawyer | Berson, Selldorf Architects, Shawn Henderson Interior Design, Shelton, Mindel & Associates, Sig Bergamin Architecture & Design, Stephen Shadley Designs, Stephen Sills Associates, Steven Harris Architects, Studio Sofield, Thad Hayes, Thierry Despont, Tino Zervudachi & Associés, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects, Toshiko Mori Architect, Tsao & McKown Architects, Vicente Wolf Associates, Victoria Hagan Interiors, and William T. Georgis Architect.

The 2015 AIA New York State Design Awards winners include the Henderson-Hopkins School by Rogers Partners Architects+Urban Designers; the SculptureCenter by Andrew Berman Architect; the Anderson Collection at Stanford University and Chipakata Children’s Academy by Ennead Architects; the Theatre for a New Audience at Polonsky Shakespeare Center by H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture; Pivot by Architecture Workshop; School No. 1 Krabbesholm and Element House by MOS Architects; David Zwirner Gallery and Sunset Park Material Recovery Facility by Selldorf Architects; Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation by Rafael Viñoly Architects; Kline Center Addition by CannonDesign; the Whitney Museum of American Art by Cooper, Robertson & Partners in collaboration with Renzo Piano Building Workshop; St. Hilda’s & St. Hugh’s School by Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects; 36SML House by LEVENBETTS; House on the Maine Coast by Toshiko Mori Architect; and Quonochontaug House by Bernheimer Architecture.

Lee H. Skolnick Architecture and Design Partnership’s Muzeiko children’s museum in Sofia, Bulgaria, has been named Bulgaria’s Building of the Year.

TPG Architecture has hired Mark Ruzzier, AIA, as Associate and Project Manager, Doug West as Design Director, and Laura Robertson, CID, LEED AP ID+C, IIDA, ASID, as Senior Designer…Francis Cauffman has appointed Zlatka Lennihan, AIA, LEED AP, as Senior Associate, and Beverley Spencer, CID, LEED AP, EDAC, CDT, as Senior Interior Designer in the firm’s healthcare division.