Names in the News

NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio and Commissioner Victor Calise of the of the NYC Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities (MOPD) honored JetBlue, Theater Breaking Through Barriers, Handi-Lift, New York Relay, and Christina Curry at the 2014 Sapolin Awards, which recognize individuals and organizations that make significant contributions to increasing accessibility for people with disabilities…The winners of Architectural Lighting magazine’s 2014 AL Light & Architecture Design Awards are Studio V Architecture/Tillotson Design Associates, Horton Lees Brodgen Lighting Design/AECOM, BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group, John Pawson/Mindseye Lighting, and Renfro Design Group

The Graham Foundation has awarded grants to seven New York-based organizations and publications, including Anyone Corporation for “Anyspace,” Artists Space for “Hito Steyerl,” Storefront for Art and Architecture for “OfficeUS: US Pavilion, 14th International Architecture Exhibition,” Van Alen Institute for “Van Alen Videos,” Manifest: A Journal of American Architecture and Urbanism for Issue No. 2: Kingdoms of God, and Issue No. 3: Bigger than Big, Pamphlet Architecture for the Lebbeus Woods Bloom, and Primary Information for Fantastic Architecture, edited by Dick Higgins and Wolf Vostell.

HOK has acquired 360 Architecture, a firm specializing on stadiums, ballparks, arenas, recreation, and wellness centers…ARCADIS, a global natural and built asset design and consultancy firm has acquired CallisonPerkins Eastman has expanded its healthcare planning and design services in China and the surrounding region, with Principal Richard Sprow, AIA, relocating to the firm’s office in Shanghai …

Steven Yablon Architect has promoted Andrew Miller, LEED AP to Associate Partner…Perkins Eastman has promoted Jonathan Cohn, AIA, LEED AP, John Rodenbeck, AIA, LEED AP, and Evan Weremeychik, AIA, LEED AP, to Principals… Paul Carr, AIA, Sital A. Patel, AIA, LEED AP, and Yu Duk So, AIA, have been promoted to Principals at S9 a Perkins Eastman AffiliateSarah Yackel, AICP, has been promoted to Principal at BFJ PlanningTina C. Lund, AICP, has been promoted to Principal at UrbanomicsWSP has promoted Patrick Chan, Susan Hamos, Darren Hardy, Cynthia Liu, and Hezi Mena to Senior Vice Presidents. and Matthew Burton, Cillian Clapin, Motz Elfahal, Michelle Galindez, Gustavo Oliveira, David Prince, Craig Tracy, Fatih Yalniz, and Yujia Zhai to Vice Presidents.