Names in the News

Robert B. Tierney, Hon. AIA, Chair of the Landmarks Preservation Commission, is one of 10 recipients of 2014 AIA Honorary Membership…The Municipal Art Society will present The New York Times architecture critic Michael Kimmelman with the 2014 Brendan Gill Prize at the organization’s Annual Meeting on 03.25.14…The New York School of Interior Design will honor interior designer Mariette Himes Gomez with the Albert Hadley Lifetime Achievement Award, and landscape architect and co-founder of Maggie’s Centres Charles Jencks with the Thomas N. Armstrong III Award in Landscape Design..

The Historic Districts Council’s Design Awards honored the Historic Front Street at the South Street Seaport by COOKFOX Architects, McCarren Pool and Bathhouse by Marvel Architects (formerly Rogers Marvel Architects), and the Weeksville Heritage Center by Caples Jefferson Architects. Honorable mentions went to 48 Bond by Deborah Berke Partners, the Corbin Building by Page Ayres Cowley Architects, Gertrude Ederle Recreation Center by Belmont Freeman Architects, and the Wythe Hotel by Morris Adjmi Architects… “Livre Noir,” designed by Esli Teker, a student at Parsons The New School of Design, won the first prize in the Illuminating Engineering Society New York City Section’s (IESNYC) 14th Annual Student Lighting Competition…

Former Chief Philanthropy Officer of the American Museum of National History Peter W. Lyden has been named President of the Institute of Classical Architecture and Art (ICAA)…On 04.09.14, the American Academy in Rome will honor Robert A.M. Stern, FAIA, and welcome new President and CEO Mark Robbins

Chris Boyer, AIA, LEED AP; Kate Lemos McHale; Nisha Baliga, AICP, LEED AP; Joe Gall, AIA, LEED AP, and Marc Sharifi, AIA, LEED AP, were promoted to Senior Associates at Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & PlannersJoseph L. Lombardi, AIA, has been promoted to Project Manager at Hoffmann Architects…The engineering and environmental consultancy WSP USA has promoted Ryan Dow, PE, SE; Yoram Eilon, PE; Yefim Gurevich, PE; Susan Martens; and Paul Meyer, PE, LEED AP BD+C, CEM, CBCP to Senior Vice Presidents, and Patrick Chan and Hezi Mena, PE, to Vice Presidents.

Robert J. Miller III, co-founder of Miller & Wright Architects, passed away on 03.10.14…Patricia DiMaggio, LC, LEED AP, Lighting Project Design Manager at Osram Sylvania, New York School of Interior Design Educator, and Past-President of the Illuminating Engineering Society New York Section, passed away on 02.28.14.