Ivan Vuckovic is the winner of the 2015 Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship

Center for Architecture Announces 2015 Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship

The Center for Architecture is pleased to announce the winner of the Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a high school senior attending a New York City public or charter school who plans to pursue an undergraduate degree in architecture at an NAAB-accredited school within New York State. This year, the award amount was increased to $10,000 per year for the first two years of study to subsidize the recipient’s college tuition and related costs.

The rigorous application process included essays, letters of recommendation, and a portfolio submission. Two finalists were then interviewed by the scholarship jury comprised of Stanley Stark, FAIA, co-chair of the Scholarship Committee; Madeline Burke-Vigeland, AIA, of Gensler; and Susan Appel, former Center for Architecture Foundation board member.

After careful consideration, Ivan Vuckovic, a 2015 graduate of LaGuardia High School, was selected to receive this year’s scholarship. Vuckovic’s thoughtful submission stood out from among the other applications. He has participated in the ACE Mentor program and worked with Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM). When asked to name his favorite building in New York, Vuckovic described being inspired by the stories and poetic nature of Lincoln Center. During the interview, the jury was impressed with the breadth of Vuckovic’s interests in architecture, art, and music. They look forward to following where his education takes him.

Upon receiving notice of the award, Vuckovic wrote, “Apart from receiving a large financial help for my tuition, this award has given me great courage and self-respect. Being chosen as a finalist and further receiving the scholarship has shown me that this field really might, after all, have a spot for me in it.” He is looking forward to starting the five-year B. Arch program at Pratt Institute this fall.

The Walter A. Hunt, Jr. scholarship is awarded annually. The next submission deadline is 05.15.16.