03.01.10: The AIA New York Chapter Design Awards winners were announced, followed by a moderated symposium discussion with this year’s jurors.


The Interiors Jury. (L-R): Brian MacKay Lyons, Hon. FAIA, cofounder of MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Ltd; Brigitte Shim, Hon. FAIA, principal at Shim-Sutcliffe Architects; and Glenn Pushelberg, cofounder of Yabu Pushelberg.

Emily Nemens


The Architecture Jury. (L-R): Julie Snow, FAIA, founder of Julie Snow Architects; Gilles Saucier, principal at Saucier + Perrotte Architectes; and Stanley Saitowitz, principal of Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects Inc.

Emily Nemens


Jurors at the Symposium. (L-R): Glenn Pushelberg, cofounder of Yabu Pushelberg (Interiors); Julie Eizenberg, AIA, founding principal of Koning Eizenberg Architecture in Santa Monica (Urban Design); Teddy Cruz, professor of public culture and urbanism in the Visual Arts Department at the University of California, San Diego (Urban Design); Stanley Saitowitz, principal of Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects Inc. (Architecture); Maurice Cox, urban designer, architectural educator at the University of Virginia School of Architecture (Urban Design).

Sam Lahoz

03.04.10: The AIA New York Chapter held a reception for members who were elevated to the College of Fellows this year.


(L-R): Christine J. Bodouva, FAIA, LEED AP, William Nicholas Bodouva & Associates; Michael F. Doyle, FAIA, Acheson Doyle Partners Architects; Donald Fram, FAIA, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Lia Gartner, FAIA, LEED AP, The New School University; Stephanie Gelb, FAIA, Hugh L. Carey Battery Park City Authority.

Courtesy AIA New York Chapter


(L-R): Alexander Klatskin, FAIA, Samual A. Klatskin Architect; Joan Krevlin, FAIA, LEED AP, BKSK Architects; Sandro Marpillero, FAIA, Marpillero Pollak Architects; Bernard A. Marson, FAIA, Bernard Marson Architect.

Courtesy AIA New York Chapter


(L-R): Bodgan Z. Pestka, FAIA, NYC Department of Design + Construction; James S. Russell, FAIA, Architecture Columnist, Bloomberg News; Anthony P. Schirripa, FAIA, IIDA, Mancini Duffy; Walter Sedovic, FAIA, LEED AP, Walter Sedovic Architects; Yvonne Szeto, FAIA, LEED AP, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects.

Courtesy AIA New York Chapter


(L-R): Dorthea Gelb; Louise Braverman, FAIA, and new fellow Stephanie Gelb, FAIA.

Kristen Richards


New fellows James S. Russell, FAIA (left), and Sandro Marpillero, FAIA.

Kristen Richards

02.26.10: The Center for Architecture hosted a series of productions on architecture, selected from the 2009 Montreal International Festival of Films on Art (FIFA) as part of MUSE’s Art on Screen Film Festival.


(L-R):David Leitner, filmmaker; Nadine Covert, New York Delegate of FIFA; Mary Burke, AIA, VP for Design Excellence; and Rick Bell, FAIA, Executive Director of AIANY.

Emily Nemens

03.03.10: AIANY organized a panel discussion in Washington, DC, on how new buildings and historic districts have learned to coexist in the country’s two most culturally and architecturally diverse cities: New York and Washington, DC.


(L-R): Tony Schirripa, FAIA, IIDA, 2010 President of AIANY; George Miller, FAIA, 2010 President of AIA; Sherida E. Paulsen, FAIA, principal, PKSB architects, New York City; Robert Tierney, Chair, NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission; Tersh Boasberg, Chair, Historic Preservation Review Board, Washington, DC; Rick Bell, FAIA, Executive Director of AIANY.

Emily Nemens