11.29.12: NYASLA/New York Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects President’s Dinner celebrated its 2012 President’s Award winners: The Architect’s Newspaper for Promoting the Profession; Douglas Blonsky, President & CEO, Central Park Conservancy for Service and Leadership; and Carter Strickland, Commissioner, NYC Department of Environmental Protection for Environmental Stewardship.

(l-r) Jill N. Lerner, FAIA, 2013 AIANY President; Marcy Stanley, Hon. AIA, Weidlinger Associates; and Eric Goshow, AIA, LEED AP, Goshow Architects, 2013 AIANYS President

Kristen Richards

(l-r) Rick Bell, FAIA, AIANY Executive Director, Diana Darling, Publisher, The Architect’s Newspaper; and Nate Harris, Abel Bainnson Butz

Kristen Richards

(l-r) Rick Bell, FAIA, and NYASLA President Laura Starr, ASLA, Principal, Starr Whitehouse

Kristen Richards

(l-r) The Architect’s Newspaper Publisher Diana Darling, and former Executive Editor Julie V. Iovine

Kristen Richards

(l-r) Amy Stroud, Marketing Director, and Samuel A. Lawrence, LEED AP, Principal, HM White Site Architecture, with Michael Koontz, Senior Associate, Thomas Balsley Associates

Kristen Richards

(l-r) Jerry van Eyck, formerly of West 8 and now the founding principal of the landscape architecture firm Melk, with Rick Bell, FAIA

Kristen Richards

The Architect’s Newspaper receiving the President’s Award for Promoting the Profession: (l-r) Jack Harris, Senior VP, John Mini Distinctive Landscapes; Alan G. Brake, Executive Editor; Aaron Seward, Managing Editor; Diana Darling, Publisher; award presenter Claire Weisz, AIA, Principal, WXY architecture + urban design; and NYASLA President Laura Starr, ASLA.

© Stephen Grande, Jr./W Studios New York &

11.28.12: The opening ceremony was held for the Kensington Library, which is the first newly constructed library in Brooklyn in nearly 20 years and also its first “green” library. The project, designed by Sen Architects, received an Award for Excellence in Design of a Public Project from the New York City Design Commission.

(l-r): Renee V. McClure, Manager, Community & Customer Management at National Grid; David Burney, FAIA, Commissioner, NYC Department of Design + Construction; Council Member Brad Lander; Brooklyn Public Library President and CEO, Linda E. Johnson; Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz; Assemblyman Jim Brennan; Brooklyn Public Library Chairman of the Board of Trustees, and Dean and President of NY Law School, Anthony Crowell; and Council Member David Greenfield.

© Philip Greenberg