12.17.07 Registration: Make Space for Art
La Reunion, TX, a Dallas-based artist residence program, announces a juried architecture exhibition seeking to create a dialogue about sustainability, live/work spaces for artists, and community involvement. The site, six acres of wooded property in Oak Cliff, is also the home of a historic trestle from the Dallas Interurban Railway, completed in 1913, running from Dallas to Ft. Worth. Cash prizes will be awarded to selected entries. The entry deadline is 01.31.08.

01.14.08 Submissions: IESNY Lumen Awards
The Lumen Awards, initiated by the New York Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNY) in 1968 and developed to encourage and recognize excellence, professionalism, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design. Any architectural lighting design project or specialty lighting design is eligible for submission. Projects awarded Lumen Awards will then become eligible for Regional and International IIDA Awards.

01.15.08 Submissions: Justice Facilities Review 2008
The AIA Academy of Architecture for Justice invites all registered architects to submit projects that represent state-of-the-art justice facility design. Justice Facilities Review 2008 offers an opportunity to put jury-selected projects before administrators, architects, state representatives, local jurisdictions, and others involved in the justice system. Selected projects will be published in the companion publication, Justice Facilities Review 2008, and featured in several traveling exhibitions. Small firms with five or fewer staff are eligible to submit entries at a discounted rate.

01.17.08 Call for Entries: MetalMag Architectural Awards
Hanley Wood is accepting entries for its second annual awards program. Winning projects in each category — interiors, metal buildings, roofs, and wall panels — will be featured in MetalMag‘s May/June 2008 issue. One winner in each category will receive $750 and free reprint promotional materials.

01.18.08 Call for Entries: 2008 Housing & Healthcare Facilities Design Awards
AIANY has formalized a biennial building types awards program that will be co-sponsored with the Boston Society of Architects (BSA). AIANY members and registered architects practicing in NYC are invited to enter the two BSA design awards categories: housing and healthcare facilities design. The program’s purpose is to increase recognition of design excellence in specialized design fields and to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who collaborate to improve the built environment. Entries are welcomed and encouraged regardless of project size, budget, or style, from both established and new practitioners. The 2008 winning projects will be featured at the BSA Awards Celebration at Build Boston on 11.20.08.

01.30.08 Call for Entries: Richard Kelly Grant
The New York Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNY) established the Richard Kelly Grant in 1980 to celebrate Richard Kelly, a pioneer of architectural lighting construction. Originally conceived as a scholarship program and later opened to young persons working in lighting in North America, the grant recognizes creative thought and activity in the use of light. Cash award will be granted. Anyone 35 years or under, studying or working in the art and/or science of illumination, in the U.S., Canada, or Mexico is eligible.

01.31.08 Submissions: 2008 AIA COTE Top 10 Green Projects Awards
These awards recognize the benefits of a high-performance, sustainable design approach; educate the architectural community and the public on the increased value that sustainable design provides for developers, building owners, and occupants; and acknowledge architects as experts in the creation of energy conscious and environmentally responsible design solutions. The competition will evaluate projects based on merit rather than in competition with the other submittals. Winning projects will be recognized with an AIA/COTE award certificate and acknowledged in the national press and on the AIA website.

01.31.08 Call for Entries: 2008 James Beard Foundation Awards
The national not-for-profit organization based in NYC offers Outstanding Restaurant Design and Graphics Design Awards for a restaurant design or renovation in the U.S., Mexico, or Canada. Projects must be executed since 01.01.05.